Heathen Foray

Melodic-Pagan-Metal from Austria



The story of Heathen Foray begins in autumn of 2005 in Styria (Austria).

During the recordings of the demo „Forest“, the band went through some Line-Up changes and eventually consisted of Jürgen Brüder and Bernd Zahn (Guitars), C. Michael Hofbauer (Drums), Robert Schroll (Vocals) und Markus Engert (Bass). „Forest“ war released in August 2007.

Heathen Foray current line-up

2008 begins for Heathen Foray with a change on the Bass. Markus Wildinger stepped in and enabled the band to play the Pagafest 2008 as support for Ensiferum, Moonsorrow, Korpiklaani, Tyr and Eluveitie. On the same day, Markus was made a permanent member of the band.

In Spring 2008, the band goes back to the studio to record the successor of „Forest“. The album „The Passage“ leads to a record deal with the german label Black Bards Entertainment.

„The Passage“ (rel. 2009) is welcomed with open arms by critics. The album receives mostly ratings in the areas of 70-90% an even brings the band the title of „Best Austrian Newcomer 2009 (folkmetal.at)“.

The success of the album also leads to the nomination as „Besten Pagan/Viking/Folk Album 2009“ by Metalstorm.net.

Heathen Foray current line-up

After the release of „The Passage“ (2009), C. Michael Hofbauer leaves the band because of private reasons and is replaced by Franz Löchinger as a Session-Drummer. Which soon to becomes a permanent member.

Foray plays a great number of gigs and tours with Battlelore, Nomans Land and Obscurity in 2009. 2010 brings the recording of a new album „Armored Bards“ and parallel live gigs.

„Armored Bards“ will be released on 24th September, 2010.

Heathen Foray are:

What's new?

Heathen Foray on Twitter Heathen Foray on Facebook